Staff Awards

Staff Awards

Staff awards are an important part of life at our Trust.  Throughout the year, we ask staff to nominate their colleagues that provide brilliant care to patients and go the extra mile for their teams. In this way, we can all collectively congratulate our co-workers for the brilliant work they do.

Healthcare Hero Award

There is one award that is open to nominations from patients, carers and the public, the Healthcare Hero Award. We welcome nominations all year round, for staff members that have made a real difference to the lives of local people. 

If you would like to nominate a member of staff or a team for providing fantastic care, nominate them for the Healthcare Hero award.  It’s quick and easy to enter, just fill in the nomination form, or email us on to tell us why they deserve recognition.

Every year, we hold a staff awards event, celebrating the outstanding work of our colleagues. Inspiring stories of great care and teamwork are shared from all around the Trust. It’s also a great time to catch up with friends, and make some new ones!

The awards are supported by the generosity of our sponsors, thank you to:

Abbey Travel, Capsticks, CIS Security, G4S, ISS Facilities, Meridian, Omni, Ravensbourne, ResourceBank, Tusker and Vinci.

Staff Awards 2019/20

Held in March 2020 at the Intercontinental Hotel London – the 02, more than 300 staff attended the evening in spectacular surroundings, on the river at Greenwich Peninsula.  Held before social distancing came into force, the awards evening was hosted by presenter and broadcaster Richard Bacon, and the show was opened by the NHS Choir.

Winners are:

Respect and Compassion Award – sponsored by Abbey Travel

Winner:                                  The Rainbow Badge Launch Team

Highly Commended:              Melissa Holland, Stoma Care Clinical Nurse Specialist

                                                Kelly Millson, Anatomical Pathology Technologist


Taking Responsibility for our Actions Award – sponsored by Resourcebank

Winner:                                  Dr Annika Charlesworth, Consultant Gastroenterologist

Highly Commended:              Treasure Balogun, Cardiac Lab Staff Nurse

                                               Complaints and PALs Team


Developing and Sharing Knowledge Award – sponsored by Capsticks

Winner:                                  Charity Mabika, Contracts Manager

Highly Commended:              Dr Emily Mabonga, Consultant GUM/HIV

                                               Barry Watt, Medical Records Manager

Working Together for Patients and Colleagues Award –sponsored by   Ravensbourne

Winner:                                  Alison White, Lead Nurse, Women’s and Sexual Health

Highly Commended:              Pam Cooper, Healthcare Assistant

                                               Karen Langley, Ward Clark


Improving Quality Award – sponsored by Meridian

Winner:                               Gayani Raheem and Sarah Turner, Young Parents Midwives

Highly Commended:           Community Mobile Working Team and Community Service Champions

                                            Telephone Assessment Clinic


Anne Savage Award winners: Dr Rishi Banerjee and Dr Louise Lea

Gabrielle Kingsley Memorial Award winner: Dr Richard Curnock


Partner Award – sponsored by CIS Security

Winner:                                Lewisham Security and Reception Team

Highly Commended:           James Duff, Porter, ISS

                                            Fiona Ramsay, Social Worker


Patient Safety Award – sponsored by G4S

Winner:                                  Henretta Coker and Sara Coughlin, Midwives

Highly Commended:           Fracture Clinic Team

                                                Zainab Hussain, Lead Pharmacist, Clinical Informatics


Healthcare Hero Award – sponsored by ISS Facility Services

Winner:                                Fetal Medicine Team

Highly Commended:           Tom Hodges, Physiotherapist

                                             Dean Robbins, Porter, ISS


Employee of the Year Award – sponsored by Vinci

Winner:                               Kate Hudson, Lead Dementia Nurse Specialist

Highly Commended:           Ann Gill, Senior Medicine Management Assistant

                                             Dr Jessica Thomas, Paediatric Consultant


Inspirational Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by OMNI

Winner:                               Dr Viv Khaliq, Clinical Director, Critical Care

Highly Commended:           Itohan Ibude, Ward Manager

                                            Gypsie Salabo, Radiology Obstetric Ultrasound Administrator


Long Service Awards, recognising 25 years service, were received by:

Onajite Akpoigbe, Yvonne Allen, Natasha Burgess-Allen, Geraldine Cayir, Jacqueline Crane, Theresa Creasy, Sarah Edwards, Neil Fraser, Denise Gabourel, Carol Houbert, Sharon Hoyte, Vini Joseph, Ann McMullen, Pauline Merrett, Lindsay Peart, Margaret Robinson, Myra Robson, Eithne Scott, Indra Seeboruth, Lorraine Stork, Dawn Thompson, Rachel Williams.